Header Bild

Starter Montanuniversität Leoben

Admission - International Students

Degrees at Montanuniversität begin in the winter and summer semester. However, it is best to begin in the winter semester.

The application for admission has to reach the university at least

 

by September 5 for the winter semester (date of receipt)

and

by February 5 for the summer semester (date of receipt)

 

of each year complete with all necessary documents.

Students can only be enrolled and matriculated during the matriculation periods. (There are no exceptions to this rule!).

Montanuniversität Leoben is not able to provide any scholarships for international students, only a (partial) refund of the tuition fee s if they meet the requirements (see tuition fees).

For further information please contact the Austrian Embassy in your home country, or OEAD.

Montanuniversität Leoben does not offer accommodation. Find all student accommodation here.

Admission requirements:

Knowledge of German, further supplementary examinations

International students whose knowledge of German cannot be sufficiently documented, have to pass the university's exam in German before they can be admitted as regular students. Studies offered completely in a foreign language are excluded.

If the obtained secondary school leaving certificate is not equivalent to an Austrian secondary school leaving diploma ("Reifezeugnis"), international students have to pass supplementary examinations. Information about the content of and the dates for these exams will be mailed together with the admission notification.

The University Preparatory Course provides preparatory classes for the German exam as well as for the supplementary examinations. While taking these classes, international students are admitted as students with provisional status ("außerordentliche Studierende"). Kindly note that it is possible to apply for the University Preparatory Course you have to apply for a degree programme.

If you apply for being admitted to a master's program after having completed a bachelor degree at a foreign university or for doctoral studies after having completed a master's degree at a foreign university and your university diploma is not considered equivalent, then you will have to take supplementary examinations of the bachelor program or master program at Leoben before being admitted to the intended studies.

You will be informed together with the admission notification.

Status equivalency of international students

The secondary school leaving certificates of the following persons are treated equal to ones issued in Austria:  

  1. persons who enjoy privileges and diplomatic immunities in Austria and persons who stay abroad on behalf of the Republic of Austria at the time they obtain their school leaving certificates, and at the same time enjoy privileges and diplomatic immunity, as well as their spouses and children

  2. accredited journalists from abroad who have their main working interests in Austria, as well as their spouses and children

  3. persons who have their main living interests in Austria for at least five continuous years immediately before applying for admission, or who have at least one person legally responsible for the applicants alimony, for whom this applies

  4. persons who receive a scholarship for the chosen field of studies, whether through bilateral agreements or from funds of an Austrian territorial authority

  5. persons with secondary school leaving certificates of Austrian International Schools

  6. conventional refugees

  7. persons seeking asylum

  8. citizens of Southern Tyrol, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg

Authentication of documents

All documents must be submitted in the original, first authenticated by the responsible institution in the country where they were issued (Ministry for Foreign Affairs) and finally authenticated by the Austrian representative authority in the country of issue ( Austrian Embassy).

Documents written in foreign languages have to be translated into German. These translations also have to be authenticated by the institution in the country of issue and the Austrian representative authority.

Authentication – Africa, India, Mongolia, Pakistan, Syria, Iran, Iraq:

Documents can only be authenticated after verification of the documents by a lawyer authorized by the Austrian embassy responsible for the home country. The owner of the documents has to come in person to the embassy. Therefore an appointment has to be made.
In case of an intended future application for a visa, residence permit etc, it is recommended to supply all the necessary documents for that purpose and to have them checked altogether in order to save expenses for future procedures. For identification it is important to provide school documents, baptism- and hospital-birth documents.
The questionnaire has to be filled in completely and correctly and has to be originally signed and submitted in original.
All relevant documents have to be submitted in original and copy.
The lawyer fee for verification has to be paid directly and in cash at the embassy.
The procedure of verification can take several weeks. To facilitate a quick processing, a completely and correctly filled questionnaire and submission of all relevant documents is absolutely necessary. Wrong or missing statements or documents will result in considerable delay of the procedure.

Original documents issued in one of the following countries do not need authentication:

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden

Documents issued in one of the following countries merely need authentication by form of an apostille from the respective national authority:

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, China - only Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macao, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Georgia, Greece, Grenada, Guyana, Honduras, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Republic of, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mozambique, Namibia, New Zealand, Niue, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Russian Federation, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé and Principe, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Venezuela, United Kingdom, United States, Zimbabwe

Header Bild

Starter Montanuniversität Leoben

Zulassung - Internationale Studierende

Die Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge an der Montanuniversität Leoben starten zum Wintersemester und Sommersemester. Es wird empfohlen, das Studium im Wintersemester zu beginnen.

Das Ansuchen um Zulassung muss für internationale Studierende, die ihr Studium an der Montanuniversität Leoben beginnen oder fortsetzen möchten, jedes Jahr für

 

das Wintersemester bis zum 5. September (Eingangsdatum)

und für

das Sommersemester bis zum 5. Februar (Eingangsdatum)

 

vollständig mit allen notwendigen Dokumenten gestellt werden.

Studierende können sich nur während der Zulassungsfristen anmelden.
(Für diese Regel gibt es keine Ausnahmen!)

Die Montanuniversität Leoben kann keine Stipendien für internationale Studierende vergeben, sondern nur eine (teilweise) Rückerstattung des Studienbeitrags gewähren, wenn die Anforderungen erfüllt sind (siehe Studienbeitrag).

Weitere Informationen zu Stipendien erhalten Sie bei der österreichischen Botschaft in Ihrem Heimatland. Alternativ können Sie sich an die Österreichische Austauschdienst-GmbH (OeAD GmbH) wenden.

Außerdem vermittelt die Montanuniversität Leoben keine Plätze in Studentenwohnheimen. Adressen von Studentenwohnheimen erhalten Sie hier.

Links zu den Anmeldungen:

Zulassungsanforderungen:

Deutschkenntnisse, weitere Ergänzungsprüfungen

Internationale Studierende, deren Deutschkenntnisse nicht ausreichend dokumentiert werden können, müssen die Deutschprüfung der Universität bestehen, bevor sie als reguläre Studierende zugelassen werden können. Ausgenommen sind Studien, die zur Gänze in einer Fremdsprache angeboten werden.

Wenn das erhaltene Zeugnis des Sekundarschulabschlusses keinem österreichischen Sekundarschulabschlusszeugnis ("Reifezeugnis") entspricht, müssen internationale Studierende Ergänzungsprüfungen ablegen. Informationen zum Inhalt und zu den Terminen dieser Prüfungen werden zusammen mit der Zulassungsbenachrichtigung versandt.

Der Vorstudienlehrgang der Universität umfasst vorbereitende Kurse für die Deutschprüfung sowie für die Ergänzungsprüfungen. Während dieser Lehrveranstaltungen sind internationale Studierende als Studierende mit vorläufigem Status zugelassen ("außerordentliche Studierende"). Bitte beachten Sie, dass eine Bewerbung für den Vorstudienlehrgang nicht möglich ist. Die Bewerbung erfolgt für ein ordentliches Studium.

Wenn Sie sich für die Zulassung zu einem Masterstudiengang bewerben, nachdem Sie einen Bachelorstudiengang an einer ausländischen Hochschule abgeschlossen haben, oder wenn Sie sich für ein Doktoratsstudium bewerben, nachdem Sie einen Masterstudiengang an einer ausländischen Hochschule abgeschlossen haben, Ihr Hochschuldiplom jedoch nicht als gleichwertig angesehen wird, dann müssen Sie die Ergänzungsprüfungen des Bachelorstudiengangs oder des Masterstudiengangs in Leoben ablegen, bevor Sie zu Ihrem gewünschten Studium zugelassen werden.

 

Sie werden zusammen mit der Zulassungsbenachrichtigung informiert.

Gleichwertiger Status bei internationalen Studierenden

Die Sekundarschulabschlusszeugnisse folgender Personen werden gegenüber den in Österreich ausgegebenen Zeugnissen als gleichwertig behandelt:  

  1. Personen, die diplomatische Privilegien und Immunität in Österreich genießen, und Personen, die sich im Namen der Republik Österreich zum Zeitpunkt des Erhalts ihrer Abschlusszeugnisse im Ausland aufhalten und gleichzeitig diplomatische Privilegien und Immunität genießen, sowie deren Ehegatten und Kinder

  2. akkreditierte Journalisten aus dem Ausland, deren Hauptarbeitsschwerpunkt in Österreich liegt, sowie deren Ehegatten und Kinder

  3. Personen, deren überwiegender Lebensschwerpunkt direkt vor dem Zulassungsantrag seit mindestens fünf aufeinanderfolgenden Jahren in Österreich liegt oder gegenüber denen, die dies betrifft, mindestens eine Person zum Unterhalt verpflichtet ist

  4. Personen, die ein Stipendium für das gewählte Studienfach erhalten, unabhängig davon, ob dies aus bilateralen Abkommen resultiert oder aus Mitteln einer österreichischen Gebietskörperschaft finanziert wird

  5. Personen mit Sekundarschulabschlusszeugnissen von österreichischen Internationalen Schulen

  6. Flüchtlinge gemäß der Genfer Konvention

  7. Asylbewerber

  8. Staatsangehörige aus Südtirol, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg

Beglaubigung der Dokumente

Alle Dokumente müssen im Original eingereicht werden, zuerst von der zuständigen Einrichtung im Ausgabeland (Außenministerium) und schließlich von der österreichischen Vertretungsbehörde im Ausgabeland ( Österreichische Botschaft) beglaubigt werden.

Fremdsprachige Dokumente müssen ins Deutsche übersetzt werden. Auch diese Übersetzungen müssen von der Einrichtung im Ausgabeland und von der österreichischen Vertretungsbehörde beglaubigt werden.

Beglaubigung – Afrika, Indien, Mongolei, Pakistan, Syrien, Iran, Irak:

Dokumente dürfen erst nach einer Überprüfung durch einen Anwalt, der von der österreichischen für das Heimatland zuständigen Botschaft autorisiert wurde, beglaubigt werden. Der Eigentümer der Dokumente muss persönlich bei der Botschaft erscheinen. Daher muss ein Termin vereinbart werden.
Sollte die Absicht bestehen, in Zukunft einen Antrag für ein Visum, eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung etc. zu stellen, empfiehlt es sich, alle notwendigen Dokumente für diesen Zweck vorzulegen und sie zusammen prüfen zu lassen, um Kosten für künftige Vorgänge zu sparen. Zur Identifizierung ist es wichtig, Schuldokumente, Taufschein und Geburtsurkunde vorzulegen.
Der Fragebogen muss vollständig und richtig ausgefüllt und im Original unterzeichnet und eingereicht werden.
Alle relevanten Dokumente müssen im Original und als Kopie vorgelegt werden.
Die Anwaltskosten für die Überprüfung müssen direkt und bar in der Botschaft bezahlt werden.
Der Vorgang der Überprüfung kann mehrere Wochen dauern. Um eine schnelle Verarbeitung zu gewährleisten, ist die Vorlage eines korrekt und vollständig ausgefüllten Fragebogens sowie aller relevanten Dokumente unabdingbar. Falsche oder fehlende Anweisungen oder Dokumente führen zu einer erheblichen Verzögerung des Vorgangs.

In einem der folgenden Länder ausgegebene Originaldokumente müssen nicht beglaubigt werden:

Bosnien und Herzegowina, Bulgarien, Deutschland, Finnland, Frankreich, Italien, Kosovo, Kroatien, Liechtenstein, Mazedonien, Montenegro, Niederlande, Norwegen, Polen, Rumänien, Schweden, Serbien, Slowakei, Slowenien, Tschechien, Ungarn

In einem der folgenden Länder ausgegebene Originaldokumente müssen nur in Form einer Apostille von der jeweiligen Bundesbehörde beglaubigt werden:

Albanien, Andorra, Angola, Antigua und Barbuda, Argentinien, Armenien, Aserbaidschan, Australien, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgien, Belize, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, China (nur die Sonderverwaltungszonen Hongkong und Macao), Costa Rica, Dänemark, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estland, Fidschi, Georgien, Grenada, Griechenland, Guyana, Honduras, Indien, Irland, Island, Israel, Japan, Kasachstan, Kolumbien, Republik Korea, Lesotho, Lettland, Liberien, Litauen, Luxemburg, Malawi, Malta, Marshallinseln, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldawien, Monaco, Mosambik, Namibia, Neuseeland, Niue, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Russland, Saint Kitts und Nevis (Saint Christopher und Nevis), Salomoninseln, Samoa, San Marino, São Tomé und Principe, Schweiz, Seychellen, Spanien, St. Lucia, St. Vincent und die Grenadinen, Südafrika, Surinam, Swasiland, Tonga, Trinidad und Tobago, Türkei, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vereinigtes Königreich, Vereinigte Staaten, Weißrussland, Zimbabwe, Zypern