Header Bild

Starter Montanuniversität Leoben

Orientation phase

The orientation phase (StEOP) is used to orientate and inform first-year students about the typical subjects they will encounter in an engineering programme. It is part of all Bachelors programmes at Montanuniversität Leoben and primarily focuses on lectures in mathematics, chemistry, physics, computer applications and programming and mechanics.

One important part of the StEOP is the orientation event "Introduction to Mining Sciences". This takes place once a week in the winter semester and provides general information about Montanuniversität, available information centres, funding options and learning techniques. One subject is also presented in each unit. This gives first-year students an in-depth overview of all the courses studied at Montanuniversität.

New StEOP regulations

In March 2011, the National Assembly passed an amendment to the University Law 2002, which will mean changes to the orientation phase from the 2011/12 winter semester onwards. The orientation phase at Montanuniversität Leoben will be arranged as follows:

(1) Upon initial enrolment in the winter semester, students must attend the "Introduction to Mining Sciences" orientation event and two other lectures. They can choose from four possible subjects.

(2) Tests during the orientation phase may be repeated twice (3 tests).

(3) Until you have attended the required orientation phase events, you can only attend further first-year lectures worth up to 30 ECTS.

Please note: different compulsory subjects apply for the orientation phase for students starting in the summer semester.

Header Bild

Starter Montanuniversität Leoben

Studieneingangsphase

Die Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase (StEOP) dient der Orientierung und Information der Studienanfänger über die besonders typischen Fächer eines ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Studiums. Sie ist in allen Bachelorstudien der Montanuniversität Leoben verankert und beinhaltet vor allem Lehrveranstaltungen aus Mathematik, Chemie, Physik, Statistik sowie Mechanik.

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der StEOP ist die Orientierungsveranstaltung "Einführung in die Montanistischen Wissenschaften". Diese findet einmal pro Woche im Wintersemester statt und vermittelt allgemeine Informationen über die Montanuniversität, mögliche Beratungsstellen, Förderungsmöglichkeiten und Lerntechniken. Weiters wird pro Einheit eine Studienrichtung präsentiert. Somit erhalten Erstsemestrige einen fundierten Einblick in alle Studien der Montanuniversität.

Neuregelungen der StEOP

Im März 2011 verabschiedete der Nationalrat die Novelle des Universitätsgesetzes 2002, die ab dem Wintersemester 2011/12 Änderungen in der Studieneingangsphase bringt. An der Montanuniversität Leoben ist die Umsetzung der StEOP folgendermaßen vorgesehen:

(1) Die Studierenden haben bei erstmaliger Zulassung im Wintersemester die Orientierungsveranstaltung "Einführung in die Montanistischen Wissenschaften" sowie zwei weitere Lehrveranstaltungen zu absolvieren. Sie können dabei aus vier möglichen Fächern wählen.

(2) Prüfungen innerhalb der StEOP dürfen viermal wiederholt werden (5 Prüfungsantritte).

(3) Bis zur positiven Absolvierung der Lehr- und Orientierungsveranstaltungen der StEOP können weitere Lehrveranstaltungen aus dem 1. Studienjahr bis zu einem Arbeitspensum von 22 ECTS absolviert werden.

Bitte beachten: Für Studienbeginner im Sommersemester gelten andere Pflichtfächer als Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase.