Header Bild

Starter Montanuniversität Leoben

Campus Life

There are lots of things to do when you are studying at Montanuniversität. Away from the university and research departments, the city of Leoben has a lively social scene and an amazing range of health and fitness facilities, shops and culture. 

University Sports Institute Leoben (USI)

As a balance to academic life, the USI Leoben offers a wide range of sports courses and training for small membership fees. For first-year students, it is a great way to try out new sports and meet fellow students at the same time.
http://usi.unileoben.ac.at

Centre for Languages, Education and Culture

Besides their technical training, students are encouraged to acquire foreign language skills and to take advantage of the wide range of classes offered by the Centre for Languages, Education and Culture. The comprehensive offer is rounded off by cultural events and classes in social skills.
http://zsbk.unileoben.ac.at

Student Societies

Besides classes and academic life at the university, Leoben features active and flourishing student societies. Students can get involved in study-related, cultural, political or sports clubs and thereby make new contacts and pursue their interests. 

Leoben traditions

Even as one of the most modern universities in Austria, Montanuniversität can still look back over 170 years of history. Within the family-like environment of a comparatively small university, a few miner and student traditions have become established and are closely linked to Leoben identity today. This starts with the usual greeting "Glück auf!" ["Good luck!"] and continues to the black miner's jacket that all uni members wear to festive occasions, right up to the "Ledersprung" admissions ceremony in which first-year students are accepted into their new profession. The personal greeting of these so-called "Schwammerl" [mushrooms] by the Chancellor when handing over degree certificates or the end of the summer semester with the "Bierauszug" [beer party] are as unique to Leoben as the personal graduation parties, known as "Philistrierungen". The most active supporters of these traditions are the Leoben student societies and the University itself. 

EUR 250 for principal residence

In order to facilitate their start in a new environment, the city council of Leoben has decided that students at Montanuniversität Leoben who establish their principle residence in Leoben for the first time receive support by the city of Leoben in the form of LE-vouchers worth EUR 250.00.

This requires registration for principal residence in Leoben. Each following year, the city of Leoben supports its students with LE-vouchers worth EUR 100.00, provided that the students can prove their principle residence in Leoben as of 1/11.

Nightlife

There's a lot going on in Leoben outside university life. Festive activities and events for students include the LEMusic-Night, when Leoben’s clubs and bars are turned into small event stages, or major concerts at Leoben’s main square. A highlight in Leoben’s event calendar is the Gösser fair [Gösser Kirtag]: thousands of visitors from near and far come to see the longest "fair strip" in Austria and enjoy a glass of beer in the Gösser beer tent. 

Water, fun and relaxation

The water experience world "Asia Spa" combines fun and relaxation in a unique way. Visitors enjoy the synthesis of sports, fun and fitness on one hand and complete relaxation and health/beauty treatments on the other. The area comprises 45,000 m² and is only a few minutes walk from the city centre and university campus. 

Shopping and culture

Shopping has been elevated to a new dimension with the "LeobenCityShopping" (LCS). Right in the city centre and built within the historic walls of a former Dominican monastery, shopaholics will find a wide range of stores, as well as an assortment of cafés and restaurants in an area of 20,000 m². 
Under the slogan "7 rails into the past", 2,000 years of city, regional and mining history are reviewed in the city’s "MuseumsCenter". The art gallery [Kunsthalle] is located in the same spacious building, where special annual cultural and historical exhibitions have attracted thousands of visitors for more than a decade.

Header Bild

Starter Montanuniversität Leoben

Campusleben

Ein Studium an der Montanuniversität lässt sich durch vielfältige Zusatzangebote ergänzen. Und auch abseits von Universität und Forschung trumpft die Stadt Leoben mit einer florierenden Beislszene und einem überraschenden Angebot aus Wellness, Shopping und Kultur auf.

Universitätssport-Institut Leoben (USI)

Als Ausgleich zum Studium bietet das USI Leoben eine breite Palette an Sportkursen und Lehrgängen zu äußerst günstigen Beiträgen an. Für Studienanfänger ist es eine tolle Möglichkeit, nicht nur neue und innovative Sportarten auszuprobieren, sondern auch soziale Kontakte zu knüpfen.
http://usi.unileoben.ac.at

Zentrum für Sprachen, Bildung und Kultur

Das breitgefächerte Sprachenangebot des Zentrums für Sprachen, Bildung und Kultur ermöglicht es den Studierenden der Montanuniversität Leoben, neben ihrer technischen Ausbildung auch diverse Fremdsprachen zu erlernen. Abgerundet wird das Angebot durch kulturelle Veranstaltungen und Ausbildungen im Bereich der sozialen Kompetenz.
http://zsbk.unileoben.ac.at

Vereine

Neben dem Studienbetrieb gibt es in Leoben ein reges Vereinsleben. Studierende können sich in verschiedenen studienspezifischen, kulturellen oder sportlichen Vereinen engagieren und auf diesem Wege Kontakte knüpfen und ihren Interessen nachgehen.

Leobens Traditionen

Die Montanuniversität kann als eine der modernsten Hochschulen Österreichs dennoch bereits auf eine 170-jährige Geschichte zurückblicken. Im familiären Klima der vergleichsweise kleinen Universität haben sich etliche bergmännische und studentische Traditionen etabliert und erhalten, die wesentlich zur Leobener Identität beitragen. Dies beginnt mit dem nach wie vor gebräuchlichen Gruß „Glück auf!“ und reicht über den schwarzen Bergkittel, der von allen Uniangehörigen zu festlichen Anlässen getragen werden kann, bis hin zum „Ledersprung“, mit dem die Erstsemestrigen in ihren neuen Berufstand aufgenommen werden. Die persönliche Begrüßung dieser so genannten „Schwammerl“ durch den Rektor bei der Matrikelschein-Übergabe oder die Verabschiedung in die Sommerferien beim „Bierauszug“ sind in Leoben ebenso einzigartig wie die persönlichen Sponsionsfeiern, „Philistrierungen“ genannt. Aktivste Förderer dieser Traditionen sind die Leobener Studentenverbindungen ebenso wie die ÖH-Leoben.

250 Euro für Hauptwohnsitznahme

Um den Studenten den Einstieg in einem neuen Umfeld so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten, hat der Gemeinderat der Stadt Leoben auf Antrag des Leobener Bürgermeisters beschlossen, dass Studierende der Montanuniversität Leoben bei erstmaliger Begründung ihres Hauptwohnsitzes in Leoben eine Förderung seitens der Stadt in Form von LE-Gutscheinen im Wert von Euro 250,-- bekommen.

Voraussetzung dafür ist die Anmeldung für einen Hauptwohnsitz in Leoben. In jedem weiteren Jahr gibt es eine Unterstützung von Euro 100,-- in Form von LE-Gutscheinen, sofern die Studierenden ihren Hauptwohnsitz in Leoben mit Stichtag 1.11. nachweisen können.

Beislszene

Aber auch abseits des Unilebens tut sich in Leoben viel. Sei es bei der zweimal jährlich stattfindenden „LE-Music-Night“, bei der die Leobener Beisln zu kleinen Veranstaltungsbühnen umfunktioniert werden, oder bei Großkonzerten am Leobener Hauptplatz. Ein Fix- und Höhepunkt im Veranstaltungskalender der Montanstadt ist zudem der Gösser Kirtag: Tausende Gäste aus Nah und Fern besuchen jedes Jahr die längste Standlstraße Österreichs und genießen im großen Gösser Bierzelt ein Glas Leobener Gerstensaft.

Wasserspaß und Entspannung

Spaß und Entspannung findet man außerdem in der Wassererlebniswelt „Asia Spa“, einer gelungenen Mischung aus Sport, Spaß und Fitness auf der einen Seite und Entspannen sowie Wellness auf der anderen Seite. Die insgesamt 45.000 m² umfassende Anlage ist nur wenige Gehminuten vom Stadtzentrum sowie vom Universitätscampus entfernt.

Shopping und Kultur

Mit dem LeobenCityShopping (LCS) hat auch das Einkaufserlebnis in Leoben eine neue Dimension angenommen. Mitten im Altstadtkern und in den historischen Gemäuern eines ehemaligen Dominikanerklosters gibt es auf rund 20.000m² ein vielseitiges Angebot an Shops, Lokalen und Restaurants. 
Unter dem Motto „7 Schienen in die Vergangenheit“ werden im MuseumsCenter 2.000 Jahre Stadt-, Regional- und Montangeschichte erzählt. Im gleichen Gebäude befindet sich außerdem die Kunsthalle Leoben, wo bereits seit über zehn Jahren renommierte kulturhistorische Großausstellungen stattfinden und Tausende Besucher in die Montanstadt locken.